New Year's Honours list 2022


APCC Chair Marc Jones said: “Police and Crime Commissioners would like to congratulate all those who are receiving New Year’s Honours for their hard work and community service.

The New Year Honours list recognises the achievements and service of people from all walks of life. It is good to see the bravery and commitment of our police officers recognised, with around 17 receiving the Queens Police Medal. And, once again, many volunteers have been honoured for their selfless work in helping the most vulnerable in our society.

“Special congratulations to two former Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs), who have been honoured in this year’s list: Sue Mountstevens is to receive an OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire) for services to the community in Bristol, Somerset and South Gloucestershire and Martyn Underhill is to receive an MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to Mental Health Awareness and Support.”

Sue Mountstevens was Police and Crime Commissioner for Avon and Somerset until May 2021 and was the APCC Criminal Justice Deputy Lead.

Martyn Underhill was Police and Crime Commissioner for Dorset, also until May 2021, and was the APCC Lead for Custody and Deputy Lead for Mental Health.

Also, many congratulations to Alison Lowe, Deputy Mayor for Policing and Crime in West Yorkshire, who has been made an OBE in the Queen's New Year's Honours list for services to mental health and well-being in her former role as CEO of the charity, Touchstone. 

Alison is the APCC Lead for EDHR & Joint Lead for Race Disparity.


Media Enquiries